The Oceania Football Confederation's highest honour, the Oceania Player of the Year (now Footballer), was first awarded to Australia's Frank Farina in 1988, as chosen by a panel of football journalists. From there, the award was dominated by Australian players until that nation became part of the Asian Football Confederation and is now similarly dominated by players from New Zealand.


In 1988, Farina's form and ability flourished. He had a stellar season in the National Soccer League, scoring 17 goals for his club, Marconi-Fairfield.


Farina won the Golden Boot Award and Players' Player Medal in back-to-back seasons (culminating in the OFC's top honour). He had well and truly cemented his place in the Socceroos squad before his big move overseas, signing for Club Brugge KV that same year.


This design celebrates Farina's achievements as a representative of the OFC in the colours of a marginalised region of world football.

Australia's First Oceania Player of the Year 1988 T-shirt

SKU: FC0000196
  • Specifications

    • Unisex, regular fit 
    • Crew neck 
    • Mid-weight, 180 GSM
    • 100% combed cotton
    • Neck ribbing, side seamed, shoulder to shoulder tape, double needle hems, preshrunk to minimise shrinkage
  • Size Chart

    Size S M L XL 2XL 3XL
    W 47 52 56.5 61 64 68
    L 71 75 78.5 82 83.5 85


    Body width/length (cm)


    Please refer to Size Chart

    Measure a shirt you own 1cm below sleeve joint from side seam to side seam (no refund or replacement for incorrect size choice)


    Images sample only